The Color Gray

I mentioned in an earlier post that I was currently doing research and working towards my PhD.  Well, along with the PhD, and in an attempt to keep my sanity, I have also started writing a book about raising a child with multiple disabilities.  I have titled it “The Color Gray” after something I have told many people over the years – with individuals that have Asperger Syndrome there is no gray – only black or white.  Remember that the next time you run into someone that may seem rigid.  Sometimes gray just doesn’t exist.

Today, I had to sit back and think about that, the fact that gray doesn’t always exist.  That is true in so many parts of our lives.  I don’t think I’d want a TSA agent who bent the rules, and I like the fact that bus drivers and airline pilots don’t believe in the color gray either.

But sometimes that just isn’t the case.  So when that happens what do you do?  You start to look at yourself, your life, and your purpose.

This is true of technology – most technology is white or black – effective for a very specific purpose – while others are gray.  We all know that word works for document creation, and that is its primary purpose, but did you realize you can create web pages as well?  Have you ever thought about using PowerPoint for creating signs?  How about using Excel to create that sign or making a form…its not just for tables anymore.

Think outside your box, sometimes the answer to what you need is already stored on your computer.

This weekend we will be offering our first free seminar in creating an ePortfolio.  Stop in and see what I am talking about.  You will be happy you did!

One comment

  1. Your’s is a point of view where real intellgiecne shines through.

Leave a Reply

